by Hundred Dollar Labs

All utilities › Wisconsin › Xcel Energy (NSP-Wisconsin)

Xcel Energy (NSP-Wisconsin), Wisconsin: PURPA avoided-cost rates

Northern States Power Company (Wisconsin): what it publishes for small generators (qualifying facilities) under PURPA, field by field, with the source for each. Checked on October 4, 2026.

When this may change: Not stated as a rule. The rate sheets are reissued each year in an annual 4220-TE docket (current: 4220-TE-2026); the peak-period definition refers to refiling the rate sheet not later than November 1 of each year. unverified

Rates, eligibility and contract terms change: confirm them with the utility or the state utility commission before relying on them.

ScheduleSchedule Pg-2A, Parallel Generation - Sale to Company (sell-all QFs; Sheets E 56.4–56.51) and Schedule Pg-2B, Parallel Generation – Sale to Company After Customer Self-Supply (Sheets E 56.6–56.61)

Note: The table of contents still titles Pg-2B 'Energy Purchase Serv. - LMP'. Schedule Pg-2C (Sheets E 56.7–56.71) provides negotiated buy-back rates only.

Source: xcelnew.my.salesforce.com (document viewer) · also: xcelnew.my.salesforce.com (document viewer) · checked 2026-10-04
Docket or orderPSCW approval letter issued December 30, 2025 in Docket No. 4220-TE-2026Source: xcelnew.my.salesforce.com (document viewer) · checked 2026-10-04
Effective date2026-01-01Source: xcelnew.my.salesforce.com (document viewer) · checked 2026-10-04
Next updateNot stated as a rule. The rate sheets are reissued each year in an annual 4220-TE docket (current: 4220-TE-2026); the peak-period definition refers to refiling the rate sheet not later than November 1 of each year.

Unverified. We could not fully confirm this from a primary document; see the note. Check the source before using it.

Note: Neither the tariff nor a located rule states when the energy credit rates are recalculated; the annual cycle is inferred from the docket name and the November 1 refiling wording.

Source: xcelnew.my.salesforce.com (document viewer) · checked 2026-10-04
Size capPg-2A: certified QFs with nameplate capacity of 5,000 kW-AC or less, all production purchased by the Company. Pg-2B: retail customers with QF generation of 1,000 kW-AC or less, deliveries may follow self-supply.Source: xcelnew.my.salesforce.com (document viewer) · checked 2026-10-04
Resource typesAny QF certified under FERC Part 292 (PURPA); Pg-2B covers generation, energy storage or hybrid resources. Optional per-kWh renewable premium for transferring renewable credits.Source: xcelnew.my.salesforce.com (document viewer) · checked 2026-10-04
Energy rate structurePer-kWh energy credits: on-peak (June–September and October–May rates) and a single off-peak rate, plus a transmission credit on all kWh; loss factors by metering level (1.02659 transmission untransformed to 1.07911 secondary) are applied to the credits. On-peak: 9:00 a.m.–9:00 p.m. Monday–Friday excluding holidays.Source: xcelnew.my.salesforce.com (document viewer) · checked 2026-10-04
Energy rates (sample cells)
Cell (as labelled, with vintage)RateUnits
Pg-2A, On-Peak Energy Credit Rate, June–September (before loss factor)$0.05297$/kWh
Pg-2A, On-Peak Energy Credit Rate, October–May (before loss factor)$0.04106$/kWh
Pg-2A, Off-Peak Energy Credit Rate, all months (before loss factor)$0.03153$/kWh
Pg-2A, Transmission Credit for Deliveries to Company, all kWh (before loss factor)$0.00705$/kWh

Copied as printed: a few labelled cells, not the full rate matrix. The whole schedule is linked below.

Note: Printed with a space after '$' on Sheet E 56.4 (e.g. '$ 0.05297'). Pg-2B (Sheets E 56.6–56.61) prints the same energy and transmission credit values.

Source: xcelnew.my.salesforce.com (document viewer) · checked 2026-10-04
Capacity paymentPg-2A only: Accredited Capacity Credit per kW of accredited capacity per month, by contract length and contract year (fixed for the contract term). Contract 1/1/2026–12/31/2026 (payments begin 2027): 1 Year $0.00, 5 Year $9.55, 10 Year $9.97, 15 Year $10.36. Contract 1/1/2025–12/31/2025 (payments begin 2026): $0.00 / $5.88 / $6.14 / $6.39. Pg-2B: no capacity credit.

Note: Table columns as printed: 'Contract', 'Payments Begin', '1 Year', '5 Year', '10 Year', '15 Year'.

Source: xcelnew.my.salesforce.com (document viewer) · checked 2026-10-04
Contract termsPg-2A: signed contract required, with capacity credit columns for 1-, 5-, 10- and 15-year contracts; renewal requires notice 90 days to 12 months before expiry; on termination or breach the QF pays back accredited capacity credits for the lesser of three years or the remaining term; the Company may deny eligibility where it sees significant risk the QF will not stay operational for the contract term. Pg-2A/Pg-2B switches only at the start of a calendar year with a one-year minimum.Source: xcelnew.my.salesforce.com (document viewer) · checked 2026-10-04
Price fixityEnergy and transmission credits variable (revised in the annual tariff docket). Pg-2A capacity credit rate fixed for the whole contract term.Source: xcelnew.my.salesforce.com (document viewer) · checked 2026-10-04
Schedule linkhttps://xcelnew.my.salesforce.com/sfc/p/1U0000011ttV/a/8b000003BF6D/KWwCDj3uMqk2klcrd9kHb0WRgMm1s6O55xoIIp_FVPM

Note: Xcel Energy Wisconsin electric rate book, 'Section 3 - Lighting, Misc., ECA and Resale' (Salesforce content-delivery link). Direct PDF download used: https://xcelnew.file.force.com/sfc/dist/version/download/?oid=00D1U0000011ttV&ids=068R300000SXxZ8&d=/a/8b000003BF6D/KWwCDj3uMqk2klcrd9kHb0WRgMm1s6O55xoIIp_FVPM&operationContext=DELIVERY&asPdf=false&viewId=

Source: xcelnew.my.salesforce.com (document viewer) · checked 2026-10-04

Values are copied as printed in the source. Where a value draws on more than one document, every source is listed, primary first.

Also in Wisconsin: Alliant Energy (WPL), We Energies, Wisconsin Public Service (WPS). All 59 utilities. Get every utility as CSV/JSON.