by Hundred Dollar Labs

All utilities › Maryland › Pepco (Maryland)

Pepco (Maryland), Maryland: PURPA avoided-cost rates

Potomac Electric Power Company: what it publishes for small generators (qualifying facilities) under PURPA, field by field, with the source for each. Checked on October 4, 2026.

When this may change: Not stated in the source. unverified

Rates, eligibility and contract terms change: confirm them with the utility or the state utility commission before relying on them.

ScheduleSchedule "CG-SPP" (Cogeneration and Small Power Production Interconnection Service), section "Standard Rate for Power Marketing Service to Small QFs" (P.S.C. Md. No. 1, Third Revised Pages 19-19.4)Source: pepco.com: 9232_AND_9761_Pepco_MD_CURRENT_CLEAN_Admin_Ch_.… · checked 2026-10-04
Docket or orderNot stated in the source.

Unverified. We could not fully confirm this from a primary document; see the note. Check the source before using it.

Note: The CG-SPP pages print no case or order number, only 'Date of Issue: July 23, 2015'. The October 1, 2026 tariff-book update cites Case Nos. 9232, 9056 & 9064, but those changed other pages, not CG-SPP.

Source: pepco.com: 9232_AND_9761_Pepco_MD_CURRENT_CLEAN_Admin_Ch_.… · checked 2026-10-04
Effective dateSchedule CG-SPP Page 19: usage on and after July 29, 2024 (issued August 6, 2024); Pages 19.1–19.4: usage on and after July 22, 2015

Note: All five CG-SPP pages: issued July 23, 2015, effective for usage on and after July 22, 2015. The schedule is unchanged in the tariff book effective October 1, 2026. Each tariff page carries its own date line; corrected 2026-10-04 after audit.

Source: pepco.com: 9232_AND_9761_Pepco_MD_CURRENT_CLEAN_Admin_Ch_.… · checked 2026-10-04
Next updateNot stated in the source.

Unverified. We could not fully confirm this from a primary document; see the note. Check the source before using it.

Note: Schedule CG-SPP states no review or update cycle, and no Maryland rule setting one was found. Pending change: Chapter 353 of 2026 (HB 1532, Utility RELIEF Act, approved May 12, 2026), new Public Utilities Article § 7–306.4, says 'ON OR BEFORE FEBRUARY 1, 2027, THE COMMISSION, BY ORDER OR REGULATION, SHALL APPROVE, AS A SUCCESSOR PROGRAM TO THE NET ENERGY METERING PROGRAM UNDER § 7–306 OF THIS SUBTITLE, A FRAMEWORK FOR A NET ENERGY METERING PROGRAM TO BEGIN JULY 1, 2027'; the PSC opened Public Conference PC 78 for it on May 14, 2026 (working-group draft report and framework due October 27, 2026). The Act and notice address net energy metering only and do not change Schedule CG-SPP on its face.

Source: pepco.com: 9232_AND_9761_Pepco_MD_CURRENT_CLEAN_Admin_Ch_.… · also: mgaleg.maryland.gov: CH_353_hb1532e.pdf, psc.maryland.gov: Notice_Convening-a-PC-PC-78.pdf, webpscxb.psc.state.md.us: PC78 · checked 2026-10-04
Size capStandard rate: QFs interconnected under CG-SPP with a maximum generating capability of 100 kW or less. Larger QFs get market access or negotiated power marketing service, with no standard rate.Source: pepco.com: 9232_AND_9761_Pepco_MD_CURRENT_CLEAN_Admin_Ch_.… · checked 2026-10-04
Resource typesAny qualifying cogeneration or small power production facility under PURPA Section 210; no technology-specific rates.Source: pepco.com: 9232_AND_9761_Pepco_MD_CURRENT_CLEAN_Admin_Ch_.… · checked 2026-10-04
Energy rate structureMarket-indexed, no fixed number. Pepco sells the QF's energy in the PJM as-available (real-time) energy market and pays the energy price received from PJM, less PJM ancillary charges and a fixed monthly administrative charge: $17 at secondary voltage (600 volts or below) or $65 at primary voltage (4kV to 33kV).Source: pepco.com: 9232_AND_9761_Pepco_MD_CURRENT_CLEAN_Admin_Ch_.… · checked 2026-10-04
Energy rates (sample cells)
Cell (as labelled, with vintage)RateUnits
All energy, QFs 100 kW or less: PJM real-time energy price received by Pepco, less PJM ancillary charges and the monthly administrative charge (market-indexed; no fixed number printed)variable (PJM real-time LMP)$/MWh
Fixed administrative charge deducted from payments, interconnection at secondary voltage (600 volts or below); a monthly charge, not an energy rate$17$/month
Fixed administrative charge deducted from payments, interconnection at primary voltage (4kV to 33kV); a monthly charge, not an energy rate$65$/month

Copied as printed: a few labelled cells, not the full rate matrix. The whole schedule is linked below.

Note: The tariff prints no energy price and no units for it; $/MWh is the unit PJM publishes real-time prices in.

Source: pepco.com: 9232_AND_9761_Pepco_MD_CURRENT_CLEAN_Admin_Ch_.… · checked 2026-10-04
Capacity paymentOnly if the QF is certified by PJM as a PJM Capacity Resource: Pepco offers the capacity in PJM capacity markets and pays the capacity price received from PJM, less PJM charges and Pepco's out-of-pocket cost of PJM unit commitment and dispatch compliance. No fixed capacity rate.

Note: The 2015 tariff text refers to the 'PJM multi-month capacity market' and 'seasonal market'.

Source: pepco.com: 9232_AND_9761_Pepco_MD_CURRENT_CLEAN_Admin_Ch_.… · checked 2026-10-04
Contract termsNo term stated for the standard rate. Service is under an interconnection service agreement and interconnection facilities agreements (per the PJM Open Access Transmission Tariff where applicable). The QF's choice of simultaneous purchase and sale or net metering can change no more than once in three years.Source: pepco.com: 9232_AND_9761_Pepco_MD_CURRENT_CLEAN_Admin_Ch_.… · checked 2026-10-04
Price fixityVariable: pays the PJM real-time energy price (and PJM capacity price, if any) as received; no fixed or levelized price.Source: pepco.com: 9232_AND_9761_Pepco_MD_CURRENT_CLEAN_Admin_Ch_.… · checked 2026-10-04
Schedule linkhttps://www.pepco.com/cdn/assets/v3/assets/bltbb7c204688a1a6a8/blte8a580e4cc79e2c4/6abad89015d5b7d18eb100f3/9232_AND_9761_Pepco_MD_CURRENT_CLEAN_Admin_Ch_.pdf?branch=prod_aliasSource: pepco.com: 9232_AND_9761_Pepco_MD_CURRENT_CLEAN_Admin_Ch_.… · checked 2026-10-04

Values are copied as printed in the source. Where a value draws on more than one document, every source is listed, primary first.

Also in Maryland: BGE (Baltimore Gas and Electric), Delmarva Power (Maryland). All 59 utilities. Get every utility as CSV/JSON.