by Hundred Dollar Labs

All utilities › Kansas › Liberty (Empire) Kansas

Liberty (Empire) Kansas: PURPA avoided-cost rates

The Empire District Electric Company: what it publishes for small generators (qualifying facilities) under PURPA, field by field, with the source for each. Checked on October 4, 2026.

When this may change: Not stated in the source. unverified

Rates, eligibility and contract terms change: confirm them with the utility or the state utility commission before relying on them.

ScheduleSchedule PGS, Parallel Generation Service (K.C.C. Index No. 4)Source: central.libertyutilities.com: 2023.02 KS_4.6_PGS.pdf · also: central.libertyutilities.com: ks-electric-rates.html · checked 2026-10-04
Docket or orderKCC Docket No. 04-GIME-080-GIE, approved May 24, 2004Source: central.libertyutilities.com: 2023.02 KS_4.6_PGS.pdf · checked 2026-10-04
Effective date2004-05-24

Unverified. We could not fully confirm this from a primary document; see the note. Check the source before using it.

Note: The sheet prints Issued and Effective May 24, 2004 and is the version linked from Liberty's current Kansas electric tariff page. It predates the 2025 and 2026 amendments to K.S.A. 66-1,184; no later PGS sheet was found, but the KCC tariff file could not be checked to confirm no newer version is on file.

Source: central.libertyutilities.com: 2023.02 KS_4.6_PGS.pdf · also: central.libertyutilities.com: ks-electric-rates.html · checked 2026-10-04
Next updateNot stated in the source.

Unverified. We could not fully confirm this from a primary document; see the note. Check the source before using it.

Note: No refiling cycle stated in the tariff or K.S.A. 66-1,184; the schedule changes only by KCC order. K.S.A. 66-1,184 as amended in 2025 and 2026 sets a floor of 100% of monthly avoided cost.

Source: central.libertyutilities.com: 2023.02 KS_4.6_PGS.pdf · also: ksrevisor.gov: 066_001_0184.html, sos.ks.gov: Chapter-113-SB-92.html · checked 2026-10-04
Size capStandard 150% rate: residential systems less than 25 kW and non-residential systems less than 100 kW. Residential 25 kW to less than 100 kW: negotiated price based on avoided energy cost. Over 100 kW: negotiated under PURPA.

Note: Sheet 1 says 'less than' 25 kW / 100 kW; Condition 8 on sheet 2 says '25 kilowatts (kW) or less' and '100 kW or less'.

Source: central.libertyutilities.com: 2023.02 KS_4.6_PGS.pdf · checked 2026-10-04
Resource typesAny customer-owned generation operated in parallel (examples given: windmills, water wheels, solar, geothermal); Condition 8 refers to small power production facilities.Source: central.libertyutilities.com: 2023.02 KS_4.6_PGS.pdf · checked 2026-10-04
Energy rate structureSingle per-kWh payment of 150 percent of the average system cost of energy for small systems; negotiated avoided-energy-cost price for residential 25-100 kW; no time-of-day or seasonal differentiation. The tariff does not define how the average system cost of energy is computed or how often it is updated.Source: central.libertyutilities.com: 2023.02 KS_4.6_PGS.pdf · checked 2026-10-04
Energy rates (sample cells)
Cell (as labelled, with vintage)RateUnits
Residential systems less than 25 kW and non-residential systems less than 100 kW: all energy and capacity supplied to the Company (formula-indexed; no cents/kWh value printed)variable (150 percent of the average system cost of energy)$/kWh
Residential systems over 25 kW but less than 100 kW: negotiated price based on avoided energy cost (no value printed)variable (negotiated avoided energy cost)$/kWh

Copied as printed: a few labelled cells, not the full rate matrix. The whole schedule is linked below.

Note: No cents/kWh value or calculation method for the average system cost of energy is printed in the tariff.

Source: central.libertyutilities.com: 2023.02 KS_4.6_PGS.pdf · checked 2026-10-04
Capacity paymentNone separate. The 150 percent payment is stated to cover capacity and energy supplied by the customer.Source: central.libertyutilities.com: 2023.02 KS_4.6_PGS.pdf · checked 2026-10-04
Contract termsStandard contract (filed as Rider NM) required before service, specifying maximum kW load, generator type and size, and protective equipment; no term printed. Application fee $200 (under 100 kW non-residential / under 25 kW residential); $1,000 plus $200 per hour beyond 5 hours for larger systems.Source: central.libertyutilities.com: 2023.02 KS_4.6_PGS.pdf · checked 2026-10-04
Price fixityVariable: paid at a percentage of the average system cost of energy; no fixed or levelized price option. Update frequency not stated.Source: central.libertyutilities.com: 2023.02 KS_4.6_PGS.pdf · checked 2026-10-04
Schedule linkhttps://central.libertyutilities.com/uploads/2023.02%20KS_4.6_PGS.pdf

Note: Linked from Liberty's Kansas electric rates page https://central.libertyutilities.com/all/residential/rates/ks-electric-rates.html

Source: central.libertyutilities.com: 2023.02 KS_4.6_PGS.pdf · also: central.libertyutilities.com: ks-electric-rates.html · checked 2026-10-04

Values are copied as printed in the source. Where a value draws on more than one document, every source is listed, primary first.

Also in Kansas: Evergy Kansas Central, Evergy Kansas Metro. All 59 utilities. Get every utility as CSV/JSON.