by Hundred Dollar Labs

All utilities › New Mexico › Xcel Energy (SPS)

Xcel Energy (SPS), New Mexico: PURPA avoided-cost rates

Southwestern Public Service Company (New Mexico): what it publishes for small generators (qualifying facilities) under PURPA, field by field, with the source for each. Checked on October 4, 2026.

When this may change: Not stated in the source. unverified

Rates, eligibility and contract terms change: confirm them with the utility or the state utility commission before relying on them.

ScheduleThirty-Third Revised Rate No. 4, Purchases from Qualifying Facilities (Tariff No. 3018.33)Source: xcelenergy.com: Rate 4, Rev. 33 - Purchases from Qualifying Fac… · also: xcelenergy.com: rate_books · checked 2026-10-04
Docket or orderNMPRC Case No. 12-00350-UT (sheets stamped as filed by Final Order in that case); page footers show Advice Notice No. 245

Note: The tariff text layer is OCR of a stamped scan; the advice-notice number is read from the footer ('Revised 245 ... Advice Notice No.').

Source: xcelenergy.com: Rate 4, Rev. 33 - Purchases from Qualifying Fac… · checked 2026-10-04
Effective date2014-04-05

Unverified. We could not fully confirm this from a primary document; see the note. Check the source before using it.

Note: Effective stamp APR 5 2014; Xcel's New Mexico rate-book page (viewed with New Mexico selected) still posts Rev. 33 as the current Rate 4. 17.9.570.11(B)(1) NMAC (2022) required each utility to apply for a new avoided-energy-cost method tariff within one year; no later SPS Rate 4 revision was found, but the NMPRC docket was not searched, so a newer approved version cannot be ruled out.

Source: xcelenergy.com: Rate 4, Rev. 33 - Purchases from Qualifying Fac… · also: xcelenergy.com: rate_books · checked 2026-10-04
Next updateNot stated in the source.

Unverified. We could not fully confirm this from a primary document; see the note. Check the source before using it.

Note: No update cycle stated. Payments track SPP locational marginal prices each settlement interval; the tariff itself changes only by NMPRC approval.

Source: xcelenergy.com: Rate 4, Rev. 33 - Purchases from Qualifying Fac… · checked 2026-10-04
Size capAll QF sizes, in three classes: Small QF 10 kW or less; Intermediate QF more than 10 kW but less than 1 MW; Large QF 1 MW or greater (each settled differently).Source: xcelenergy.com: Rate 4, Rev. 33 - Purchases from Qualifying Fac… · checked 2026-10-04
Resource typesAny QF (cogeneration or small power production facility); extra data requirements apply to wind and solar Large QFs.Source: xcelenergy.com: Rate 4, Rev. 33 - Purchases from Qualifying Fac… · checked 2026-10-04
Energy rate structureAs-available energy paid per settlement interval at SPP prices x a QF-specific loss factor: QFs self-registered in the SPP Market get the Day-Ahead LMP on scheduled MWh; Large QFs registered by SPS get the Real-Time LMP less SPP charges; Intermediate and Small QFs get the Real-Time LMP at the electrically closest Settlement Location. $215.00 per month charge if the QF is not an SPS New Mexico retail customer.Source: xcelenergy.com: Rate 4, Rev. 33 - Purchases from Qualifying Fac… · checked 2026-10-04
Energy rates (sample cells)
Cell (as labelled, with vintage)RateUnits
Intermediate (>10 kW to <1 MW) and Small (10 kW or less) QFs: SPP Real-Time LMP at the electrically closest Settlement Location x QF-specific loss factor (market-indexed; no fixed number printed)variable (SPP Real-Time LMP)dollars per megawatt-hour (LMP), divided by 1000 and applied to kWh
Large QFs registered by SPS: SPP Real-Time LMP at the QF's Settlement Location x loss factor, less SPP charges (market-indexed; no fixed number printed)variable (SPP Real-Time LMP)dollars per megawatt-hour (LMP), divided by 1000 and applied to kWh
QFs self-registered in the SPP Market: SPP Day-Ahead LMP x MWh scheduled to SPS x loss factor (market-indexed; no fixed number printed)variable (SPP Day-Ahead LMP)dollars per megawatt-hour

Copied as printed: a few labelled cells, not the full rate matrix. The whole schedule is linked below.

Source: xcelenergy.com: Rate 4, Rev. 33 - Purchases from Qualifying Fac… · checked 2026-10-04
Capacity paymentNone: the tariff covers purchases of as-available energy only.Source: xcelenergy.com: Rate 4, Rev. 33 - Purchases from Qualifying Fac… · checked 2026-10-04
Contract termsQF must sign the standard agreement attached to the tariff. Attached Standard Metering and Billing Agreement: original term one year from execution, renewing year to year; either party may terminate on 90 days' written notice (SPS must show good cause). Rate changes approved by regulators apply to the agreement.

Note: Text is OCR of a scanned tariff; the term sentence reads 'shall be fcit a period' in the OCR.

Source: xcelenergy.com: Rate 4, Rev. 33 - Purchases from Qualifying Fac… · checked 2026-10-04
Price fixityVariable: SPP market price for each settlement interval; no fixed or levelized price.Source: xcelenergy.com: Rate 4, Rev. 33 - Purchases from Qualifying Fac… · checked 2026-10-04
Schedule linkhttps://www.xcelenergy.com/staticfiles/xe-responsive/Company/Rates%20&%20Regulations/Rate%204,%20Rev.%2033%20-%20Purchases%20from%20Qualifying%20Facilities%20(4-5-2014).pdfSource: xcelenergy.com: Rate 4, Rev. 33 - Purchases from Qualifying Fac… · checked 2026-10-04

Values are copied as printed in the source. Where a value draws on more than one document, every source is listed, primary first.

Also in New Mexico: El Paso Electric, PNM. All 59 utilities. Get every utility as CSV/JSON.