by Hundred Dollar Labs

All utilities › New Mexico › PNM

PNM, New Mexico: PURPA avoided-cost rates

Public Service Company of New Mexico: what it publishes for small generators (qualifying facilities) under PURPA, field by field, with the source for each. Checked on October 4, 2026.

When this may change: Not stated in the source. unverified

Rates, eligibility and contract terms change: confirm them with the utility or the state utility commission before relying on them.

Schedule56th Revised Rate No. 12, Cogeneration and Small Power Production Facilities (canceling 55th Revised Rate No. 12)

Note: PNM's table of contents filed with Advice Notice No. 662 (effective September 2, 2026 per its file name) still lists the 56th Revised Rate No. 12 as current.

Source: pnm.com: pnm-an-649-effective-march-1-2026-1 · also: pnm.com: pnm-an-662-effective-sptember-2-2026-table-of-c… · checked 2026-10-04
Docket or orderPNM Advice Notice No. 649 (pages 10-12 marked Second Amended Advice Notice No. 649); no NMPRC case number or approval date is printed on the sheets

Note: The NMPRC docket entry for Advice Notice No. 649 was not located; approval status is taken from PNM posting it as the current Rate No. 12.

Source: pnm.com: pnm-an-649-effective-march-1-2026-1 · checked 2026-10-04
Effective date2026-03-01

Unverified. We could not fully confirm this from a primary document; see the note. Check the source before using it.

Note: Not printed on the rate sheets. Date taken from PNM's own document URL slug 'pnm-an-649-effective-march-1-2026'; PDF metadata shows creation on Feb 27, 2026.

Source: pnm.com: pnm-an-649-effective-march-1-2026-1 · checked 2026-10-04
Next updateNot stated in the source.

Unverified. We could not fully confirm this from a primary document; see the note. Check the source before using it.

Note: Rate No. 12 states no update cycle. Its rates are built from the preceding calendar year's ELAP prices, which implies a yearly refiling (current table under Advice Notice No. 649). The annual-update sentence in 17.9.570.11(C) NMAC applies to schedules filed before a utility's method tariff is approved under 17.9.570.11(B)(1), so it may not govern PNM's current method.

Source: pnm.com: pnm-an-649-effective-march-1-2026-1 · also: srca.nm.gov: 17.009.0570.pdf · checked 2026-10-04
Size capPublished monthly rate tables: QFs rated 5 MW and below. QFs above 5 MW are paid hourly ELAP prices times a loss factor. QFs rated 10 kW or less: Rule 570.14 (net metering) provisions apply.Source: pnm.com: pnm-an-649-effective-march-1-2026-1 · checked 2026-10-04
Resource typesAny qualifying cogeneration or small power production facility (18 CFR 292.201-292.207); a separate rate column applies to solar energy production facilities.Source: pnm.com: pnm-an-649-effective-march-1-2026-1 · checked 2026-10-04
Energy rate structureQFs 5 MW and below: a 12-month table (March through February) of per-kWh energy rates by interconnection voltage (secondary, primary, substation, sub-transmission, transmission) and costing period matching the QF's retail schedule (TOU on/off-peak, RTOD/TOD on/off-peak, TOD super off-peak, non-TOU); a separate solar 'All Daylight Hours' rate at primary voltage. Some printed values are negative (shown in parentheses); rates applied to bills are not less than $0.00/kWh. QFs above 5 MW: actual hourly production x hourly ELAP price x voltage loss factor.Source: pnm.com: pnm-an-649-effective-march-1-2026-1 · checked 2026-10-04
Energy rates (sample cells)
Cell (as labelled, with vintage)RateUnits
QFs 5 MW and below, secondary distribution voltage (applies to Schedules 1A, 1B), Non-TOU/TOD hours, October$0.0277033$ per kWh
QFs 5 MW and below, secondary distribution voltage (Schedules 1A, 1B), TOU On-Peak hours (M-F 8am-8pm), October$0.0168686$ per kWh
QFs 5 MW and below, secondary distribution voltage (Schedules 1A, 1B), TOU On-Peak hours, March (printed negative, in parentheses)($0.0192129)$ per kWh
QFs 5 MW and below, solar energy production facilities, primary distribution voltage, All Daylight Hours, October$0.0061306$ per kWh
QFs 5 MW and below, transmission voltage (Schedules 15B, 33B, 36B), TOU Off-Peak hours, July$0.0333508$ per kWh

Copied as printed: a few labelled cells, not the full rate matrix. The whole schedule is linked below.

Note: Month rows run March through February in the Advice Notice No. 649 tables (taken to be March 2026-February 2027; the sheets print no year). Secondary rows from page 3 (columns: TOU On-Peak, TOU Off-Peak, RTOD On-Peak, RTOD Off-Peak, Non-TOU/TOD); solar row from page 6; transmission row from page 9 (columns: TOU On-Peak, TOU Off-Peak, TOD On-Peak, TOD Off-Peak, TOD Super Off-Peak).

Source: pnm.com: pnm-an-649-effective-march-1-2026-1 · checked 2026-10-04
Capacity paymentNone stated: Rate No. 12 sets energy purchase rates only.Source: pnm.com: pnm-an-649-effective-march-1-2026-1 · checked 2026-10-04
Contract termsNo contract term or standard purchase agreement in Rate No. 12. Service starts after an Application for Interconnection, an executed Interconnection Agreement, completion of 17.9.570.9(B)(1)-(7) NMAC requirements and interconnection. Monthly statement nets charges and credits; payment made to the QF if it is owed more.Source: pnm.com: pnm-an-649-effective-march-1-2026-1 · checked 2026-10-04
Price fixityVariable: a fixed monthly table for the filing period, recalculated from the preceding calendar year's monthly ELAP averages; QFs above 5 MW paid hourly market prices.Source: pnm.com: pnm-an-649-effective-march-1-2026-1 · checked 2026-10-04
Schedule linkhttps://www.pnm.com/documents/d/pnm.com/pnm-an-649-effective-march-1-2026-1Source: pnm.com: pnm-an-649-effective-march-1-2026-1 · checked 2026-10-04

Values are copied as printed in the source. Where a value draws on more than one document, every source is listed, primary first.

Also in New Mexico: El Paso Electric, Xcel Energy (SPS). All 59 utilities. Get every utility as CSV/JSON.