by Hundred Dollar Labs

All utilities › Michigan › Upper Peninsula Power (UPPCO)

Upper Peninsula Power (UPPCO), Michigan: PURPA avoided-cost rates

Upper Peninsula Power Company (UPPCO): what it publishes for small generators (qualifying facilities) under PURPA, field by field, with the source for each. Checked on October 4, 2026.

When this may change: Not stated in the source. unverified

Rates, eligibility and contract terms change: confirm them with the utility or the state utility commission before relying on them.

SchedulePG-4, D2. Parallel Generation - Purchase by UPPCO (MPSC Vol No 8-Electric, Sheets D-72.70 to D-72.73)Source: uppco.com: D.-Parallel-Gen-Purchased-by-UPPCO_01.07.26.pdf · checked 2026-10-04
Docket or orderMPSC Case No. U-21809, order dated 10-09-25 (rate sheet D-72.71); availability sheet D-72.70 under Case No. U-20350Source: uppco.com: D.-Parallel-Gen-Purchased-by-UPPCO_01.07.26.pdf · checked 2026-10-04
Effective date2025-10-09

Note: Sheet D-72.71 (forecast energy rates) effective for service on and after 10-09-25; issued 12-09-25.

Source: uppco.com: D.-Parallel-Gen-Purchased-by-UPPCO_01.07.26.pdf · checked 2026-10-04
Next updateNot stated in the source.

Unverified. We could not fully confirm this from a primary document; see the note. Check the source before using it.

Note: Tariff states no update schedule. MCL 460.6v requires the MPSC to reevaluate PURPA avoided-cost rates at least every 5 years (cited in MPSC order U-21090, Jan 29, 2026).

Source: uppco.com: D.-Parallel-Gen-Purchased-by-UPPCO_01.07.26.pdf · also: adms.apps.lara.state.mi.us: 27361 · checked 2026-10-04
Size capQFs with total customer-owned generating capacity of 550 kW AC or less (larger may negotiate); QFs 150 kW or less may alternatively use PG-2 (or PG-1M if 20 kW or less).Source: uppco.com: D.-Parallel-Gen-Purchased-by-UPPCO_01.07.26.pdf · checked 2026-10-04
Resource typesAny FERC Part 292 qualifying facility (not resource-specific); methane digesters may use PG-3.Source: uppco.com: D.-Parallel-Gen-Purchased-by-UPPCO_01.07.26.pdf · checked 2026-10-04
Energy rate structureRate Option 1 (As Available): actual MISO day-ahead LMP at UPPC.INTEGRATED node, loss-adjusted, less $0.001/kWh admin fee. Rate Option 2 (LMP Energy Rate Forecast): fixed on-peak/off-peak prices by year from tariff table for the first 5 years of contract term, then real-time MISO LMP averaged monthly. Distribution loss factors applied by voltage.Source: uppco.com: D.-Parallel-Gen-Purchased-by-UPPCO_01.07.26.pdf · checked 2026-10-04
Energy rates (sample cells)
Cell (as labelled, with vintage)RateUnits
Rate Option 2 LMP Energy Rate Forecast, year 2026 On-Peak$45.35not printed on table (values appear to be $/MWh; the rate-option table header reads '$/kWh')
Rate Option 2 LMP Energy Rate Forecast, year 2026 Off-Peak$36.93not printed on table (see note)
Rate Option 2 LMP Energy Rate Forecast, year 2027 On-Peak$43.26not printed on table (see note)
Rate Option 2 LMP Energy Rate Forecast, year 2027 Off-Peak$37.02not printed on table (see note)

Copied as printed: a few labelled cells, not the full rate matrix. The whole schedule is linked below.

Unverified. We could not fully confirm this from a primary document; see the note. Check the source before using it.

Note: Numbers copied as printed; the forecast table carries no unit. Magnitude suggests $/MWh but the tariff does not say so.

Source: uppco.com: D.-Parallel-Gen-Purchased-by-UPPCO_01.07.26.pdf · checked 2026-10-04
Capacity paymentSeasonal capacity rates based on MISO's annual one-year Planning Resource Auction (PRA); no fixed capacity price printed.Source: uppco.com: D.-Parallel-Gen-Purchased-by-UPPCO_01.07.26.pdf · checked 2026-10-04
Contract termsNot stated in the source.

Unverified. We could not fully confirm this from a primary document; see the note. Check the source before using it.

Note: Tariff refers to 'the term of the special offer contract' and to a 5-year fixed-price period but does not list available term lengths.

Source: uppco.com: D.-Parallel-Gen-Purchased-by-UPPCO_01.07.26.pdf · checked 2026-10-04
Price fixityRate Option 2: fixed price for the first 5 years of the contract term per tariff table, then real-time MISO LMP. Rate Option 1: variable day-ahead LMP.Source: uppco.com: D.-Parallel-Gen-Purchased-by-UPPCO_01.07.26.pdf · checked 2026-10-04
Schedule linkhttps://www.uppco.com/wp-content/uploads/D.-Parallel-Gen-Purchased-by-UPPCO_01.07.26.pdfSource: uppco.com: D.-Parallel-Gen-Purchased-by-UPPCO_01.07.26.pdf · checked 2026-10-04

Values are copied as printed in the source. Where a value draws on more than one document, every source is listed, primary first.

Also in Michigan: Consumers Energy, DTE Electric, Indiana Michigan Power. All 59 utilities. Get every utility as CSV/JSON.